Slow cooker meat balls – paleo

Meat balls

GRASS FED MEAT BALLS IN TOMATO SAUCE

These were quick and loved by all three of us.  They took 10 minutes to prep, 2.5 hours in the slow cooker on LOW and made 15 meatballs

I adapted the recipe from   “The Baby-led Weaning Cookbook” by Gill Rapley & Tracey Murkett.  The original recipe is also really easy but it’s not paleo.

Here’s what I used –

1 lbs ground beef (I prefer 100% grass fed beef)

1 egg (I prefer free range eggs)

2 large garlic cloves, crushed or finely chopped

1 tsp fresh oregano*

3 tsp fresh parsley*                                                                                                              (*italian seasoning is a good alternative to the individual oregano & parsley).

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

2 oz almond flour*, fine ground                                                                                          (*almond flour is simply raw almonds that I ground in a food processor.  Almond flour can also be bought).

As for the tomato sauce, I bought my sauce from my local butcher shop.  They make it from scratch there and it’s delicious.  I prefer my bought sauces to come from a glass jar and not a can.  I’ll try making my own sauce one of these days:)

Mix all of the meatball ingredients into a bowl and mix it well.  I just used my hands, they seem to be the best mixer for these.

Roll the mixture into balls about the size of a golfball.  Place the balls onto parchment paper or on an oiled surface so they won’t stick.

Placed the balls in the fridge for 45 minutes minimum.  This allowed them to firm up and stay together while they cook.  The balls can be kept in the fridge over night if you’re preparing them the night before.  Be sure to cover them so they don’t dry out!

Pour enough sauce to cover just the bottom of the slow-cooker.  Arrange the meat balls in the slow-cooker with approximately the same space between them.  Balls placed too close together won’t cook evenly.

Pour the remaining tomato sauce over all the meatballs.

Turn your slow-cooker onto LOW and set your timer to *2.5 hours.                                   (Now is a good time to prep the rest of your meal or take a nap if it’s part of your routine like it is mine;)

*I’ve only ever used one brand of slow-cooker so I don’t know if the cooking time fluctuates among brands.  Many other recipes have said to cook the balls for three times as long as I did.  I just happened to check them at 2.5 hours and they were cooked 95% of the way through.  To me they were done.

We ate the meatballs with rice and grilled bell peppers.

My family loved this recipe!  So go on!  Adjust it to your tastes, set the timer and relax busy mama & papa Bear.

2 thoughts on “Slow cooker meat balls – paleo

  1. thanks Julie, I’ll try these. Probably won’t use grass fed meat as my source for all grass fed beef, lamb and pork is no longer available. My father in law used to raise free range cattle, I got my lamb from my brother and a friend used to raise pigs however those days are long gone and my recent source has been costco although I do like the meat shop at Blundell centre.

    • We’re are fans of Blundell Centre meat shop as well. The Steveston farmers market has a farmer who sells grass fed beef for about $3.00 a pound. Kine Meats (closed tuesday & thursday) behind Iron Wood also sells grass fed beef for about $5.00 a pound.

Leave a Reply

