chalkboardpaint

Image

Confession time.  I have a new addiction.  It’s an old time addiction for some.  I just discovered chalk board paint about four months ago.  Any avid DIY’er would be having a chuckle by now.  Turns out the matte paint has been a hit in the DIY department for ages.  Not having a Home Depot or a mega craft store within walking distance has helped postpone my personal discovery of the stuff.   I’d happily paint an entire wall for my 1.5 year old to chalk up if my husband and I owned our condo.   I’ll save that chalkboard dream for when we own a home and have a wicked playroom for the kiddies. In the mean time I’m happy to paint old mirrors with the matte paint and dive right in as if it’s never been done before.

I’ve played around the paint on (roller/brush) version.  I used Martha Stewarts grey chalk board paint over an old mirror.  I primed the mirror surface first and painted three coats of the grey.  It only called for two coats but I’m picky and did one more.  The chalkboard paint rolled on well, dried well and lives up to any chalkboard standards you may have.  Remember the important step of coating your newly painted chalkboard surface with a layer of chalk BEFORE writing anything on it.  Turn your piece of chalk on its side and rub it over your entire chalkboard surface.  Once I did that step I was clear for take off and have happily written many messages with no ‘stain’ of old worlds left behind from previous writing.  I’ll post my mirror converted to chalkboard in the very near future.  In the mean time I’ll continue to dream via pinterest for more ways to use chalkboard paint!

Leave a Reply

